The Modern Marketer

Keeping up with the times

Going Out With a Bang!

This quarter has flown by so quickly, it’s hard to believe. I’ve gained so much knowledge in such a short period of time, mainly thanks to my awesome professor, Mark! (@DigiMark_WWU).

Over the course of the quarter, we covered:

  • SEO
  • Inbound Marketing
  • Social Media
  • Content Marketing
  • Paid Media
  • Coding
  • A/B Testing
  • SQL and Database Marketing
  • Mobile
  • Product Co-creation
  • Edgerank
  • Growth Hacking

A pretty huge number of topics for one quarter. It was definitely intense fitting it all in, but so worth it. 

Technology is spreading like wildfire, and constantly increasing in usage. It’s also providing new opportunities for marketing, as well as new pitfalls. As marketers we have an ever increasing number of platforms and ways to reach out to consumers. Social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter, SEO via search engines (mainly Google), Mobile marketing, etc.. All of these are continuing to grow, and I’m sure many more are on the horizon. The increased usage of internet by consumers is also a danger for marketers. People now have the ability to search a product online, and see hundreds of reviews from consumers all over the world. Since reviews online are generally either very good, or very bad, this has the potential to support a really good product, or completely destroy a bad one. Over the course of this quarter, I’ve gained a great sense of appreciation for both the benefits of our new age of technology, and the dangers. 

I’ve also gained a lot of great technical skills that I am so excited to have, and to be able to put in my resume as I’m beginning my job applications (AHH!). I learned the basics of HTML via Codecademy, which I’m sure is going to be very useful at some point in my career/life. I also got certified for the HootSuite Social Media Dashboard: 

HootSuite Certified Professional

And got certified in Google Analytics (it was touch and go there for a bit): YAY!

Image

 

 

Keeping this blog has been a totally new experience for me, but overall an enjoyable one. It’s been fun to watch my stats go up, and to see what the best ways of increasing viewership are. 

My stats for the quarter are shown below:

 

Image

 

On top of all that, I wrote 8,712 words in my blog over the course of the quarter. Not bad! 

Keeping this blog has been quite an accomplishment for me…and I hope you all have enjoyed reading it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it. Hopefully I’ll be able to continue posting even when my schedule changes next quarter. 

Thanks for following me, and if you’re a student as well, good luck with finals and hope your quarter ends well!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

